About the AOFAS

The American Orthopaedic Foot & Ankle Society® (AOFAS) mobilizes our dynamic community of foot and ankle orthopaedic specialists to improve patient care through education, research, and advocacy. As the premier global organization for foot and ankle care, AOFAS delivers exceptional events and resources for continuous education, funds and promotes innovative research, and broadens patient understanding of foot and ankle conditions and treatments. By emphasizing collaboration and excellence, AOFAS inspires ever-increasing levels of professional performance leading to improved patient outcomes.

About Foot and Ankle Orthopaedic Surgeons 

Foot and Ankle Orthopaedic Surgeons are medical doctors who specialize in the diagnosis and treatment of injuries, diseases, and other conditions of the foot and ankle. Their comprehensive education and training include four years of medical school, five years of residency training in orthopaedic surgery, and a one- or two-year fellowship focused on foot and ankle care. No other healthcare provider has the depth and breadth of experience to treat the full spectrum of foot and ankle conditions.

Foot and Ankle Orthopaedic Surgeons typically have expertise in treating:
  • Injuries such as fractures, dislocations, sprains, torn ligaments and amputations.
  • Joint destruction requiring joint replacement
  • Sports injuries
  • Arthritis
  • Loss of joint and muscle function caused by disease or injury
  • Bunions, hammertoes, and flatfeet
  • Nerve disorders such as neuroma and tarsal tunnel syndrome
  • Congenital deformities such as clubfoot
  • Pediatric problems such as in-toeing and out-toeing and leg length discrepancy
  • Infections and tumors of bones, joints, tendons, and muscles 

CME Accreditation

The American Orthopaedic Foot & Ankle Society has been resurveyed by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) and awarded Accreditation with Commendation for six years (7/2014 - 7/2020) as a provider of continuing medical education for physicians.

ACCME accreditation seeks to assure the medical community and the public that AOFAS provides physicians with relevant, effective, practice-based continuing medical education that supports US health care quality improvement. The ACCME employs a rigorous, multilevel process for evaluating institutions' continuing medical education programs according to the high accreditation standards adopted by all seven ACCME member organizations. These organizations of medicine in the US are the American Board of Medical Specialties, the American Hospital Association, the American Medical Association, the Association for Hospital Medical Education, the Association of American Medical Colleges, the Council of Medical Specialty Societies, and the Federation of State Medical Boards of the US, Inc.


The AOFAS is governed by an elected 11 member Board of Directors. The 2018-2019 President is J. Chris Coetzee, MD, of Edina, Minnesota. Other officers are President-Elect William C. McGarvey, MD, Katy, Texas; Vice President Bruce E. Cohen, MD, Charlotte, North Carolina; Secretary Christorpher W.. DiGiovanni, MD, Waltham, Massachusetts; Treasurer Bryan D. Den Hartog, MD, St. Paul, Minnesota; and Immediate Past President Thomas H. Lee, MD, Pickerington, Ohio 

Members-at-Large on the Board are Samuel B. Adams, Jr., MD, Durham, North Carolina; John T. Campbell, MD, Baltimore, Maryland; A. Holly Johnson, MD, New York, New York; and Sandra E. Klein, MD, St. Louis, Missouri. 

AOFAS Executive Office

The AOFAS Executive Office is located in Rosemont, Illinois. Elaine M. Leighton, MPH, CAE, is the Executive Director.

The AOFAS is a 501(c)(3) organization.