Traveling Fellowship Program

The 2019 AOFAS Traveling Fellowship Program application period is now closed. 

The 2019 recipients will be announced in March 2019 during Specialty Day.

The Traveling Fellowship Program offers a special opportunity for early-career AOFAS members to attend the AOFAS Annual Meeting and visit leading foot and ankle research and educational institutions. The program is open to AOFAS Active Members, Candidate Members, and International Members who are 45 years old or younger at the time of application. ​Applicants must be available for the full two-week experience, September 8-22, 2019.

At host sites, Traveling Fellows will observe operating rooms, learn new surgical techniques alongside accomplished surgeons, and present their own research and clinical experiences. The program aims to promote professional relationships, exchange ideas, and encourage new thinking on research and clinical care topics.

Questions? Contact the AOFAS Executive Office at or 800-235-4855 or +1-847-698-4654 (outside US).

The Traveling Fellowship Program is provided complimentary to AOFAS members as a benefit of membership. Funding for the 2018 program ​provided​ by the Orthopaedic Foot & Ankle Foundation, supported in part by a grant from DJO™ Global.


 Congratulations 2018 Traveling Fellows!

Congratulations to the 2018 Traveling Fellows! Selected by the Awards & Scholarships Committee, the six recipients of the 2018 Traveling Fellowship Awards were announced at AOFAS Specialty Day on March 10, 2018.
In addition to attending AOFAS Annual Meeting 2018, the Traveling Fellows visited Brigham Foot & Ankle Center at Faulkner Hospital and Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston, Massachusetts; OrthoCarolina in Charlotte, North Carolina; and Hospital for Special Surgery in New York, New York.

Jinsong Hong​​​ Kaan S. Irgit Charles R.J. Jowett

Jinsong Hong, MD

​Kaan S. Irgit, MD
Charles R.J. Jowett, MBBS, MRCS
United Kingdom

Dong-Oh Lee​​​ Pradeep Moonot Satoshi Yamaguchi

Dong-Oh Lee, MD
South Korea

​Pradeep Moonot, MBBS, MS(Orth)
​Satoshi Yamaguchi, MD, PhD

 Past Traveling Fellowship Award Recipients


  • ​Samuel Ada​ms, MD, United States
  • Chayanin Angthong, MD, PhD, Thailand 
  • Umur Aydogan, MD, Turkey ​​
  • Su-Young Bae, MD, South Korea 
  • Francisco Javier Garcia Bermudez, MD, Colombia 
  • Wesley Bevan, BhB, MBChB, New Zealand 
  • Roberto Bevoni, MD, Italy 
  • Peter Bock, MD, Austria 
  • James D.F. Calder, MD, United Kingdom 
  • Woo Jin Choi, MD, South Korea 
  • Jose Cohen, MD, Brazil 
  • Malhar H. Dave, MS (Ortho), India 
  • Felipe Oliveira Delocco, MD, Brazil 
  • Christopher W. DiGiovanni, MD, United States 
  • Scott J. Ellis, MD, United States 
  • Daniel C. Farber, MD, United States 
  • Arno Frigg, MD, Switzerland 
  • Mark A. Glazebrook, MD, Canada 
  • Adam Groth, MD, US Military, Germany 
  • Amgad Haleem, MD, PhD, United States 
  • Kenneth Hunt, MD, United States 
  • Gillian Jackson, MBChB, United Kingdom 
  • Andrew J.L. Jowett, MBBS, United Kingdom 
  • Hong-Geun Jung, MD, South Korea 
  • Ravindra Kamath, MBBS, United Kingdom 
  • Hyong Nyun Kim, MD, South Korea 
  • Bom Soo Kim, MD, South Korea 
  • Jinsu Kim, MD, South Korea 
  • Kevin Kirk, DO, United States 
  • Markus Knupp, MD, Switzerland 
  • Fabian Krause, MD, Switzerland 
  • Ian L.D. Le, MD, FRCSC, Canada 
  • Umile Giuseppe Longo, MD, PhD, Italy​
  • ​Xin Ma, MD, China
  • Kevin Martin, DO, United States 
  • Joshua Mayich, MD, Canada 
  • Wesley J. Milazzo, MD, Brazil 
  • Selim Mugrabi, MD, Turkey 
  • Tahir Ögüt, MD, Turkey 
  • Young-uk Park, MD, South Korea 
  • Sampat Dumbre Patil, DNB, MBBS, India 
  • Christopher Pearce, MBChB, Singapore 
  • Phinit Phisitkul, MD, United States 
  • Palanisamy Ramesh, MS, MCh, United Kingdom 
  • Balvinder Rana, MS (Ortho), India 
  • Sudheer Reddy, MD, United States 
  • Chamnanni Rungprai, MD, Thailand 
  • Yousef R. Salameh, MD, Israel 
  • Jose A.V. Sanhudo, MD, Brazil 
  • Nicholas Savva, FRCS(Tr & Orth), United Kingdom 
  • Zhongmin Shi, MD, China 
  • Weidong Song, MD, China 
  • Peter Stavrou, FRACS, Australia 
  • Sjoerd Stufkens, MD, PhD, Netherlands 
  • Panagiotis Symeonidis, MD, Greece 
  • Eloisa Patricia Parra Téllez, MD, Mexico 
  • Rhys H. Thomas, MD, United Kingdom 
  • Geoffrey M. Tymms, MBBS, Australia 
  • Federico Usuelli, MD, Italy 
  • Francesca Vannini, MD, Italy 
  • José Elías Vergara, MD, Panama 
  • Alicia Lasalle Vignolo, MD, Uruguay 
  • Markus Walther, MD, Germany 
  • Xu Wang, MD, China 
  • Martin Wiewiorski, MD, Switzerland 
  • Yunfeng Yang, BMed, China 
  • Yuan Zhu, MD, China ​​