About Us

What ​Is a Foot and Ankle Orthopaedic Surgeon?

Foot and ankle orthopaedic surgeons are medical doctors -- MDs and DOs who have completed four years of medical school, five years of residency training in orthopaedic surgery, and a year or more of advanced fellowship training in foot and ankle care. They are highly qualified physicians who are trained to care for a full spectrum of medical issues.
Foot and ankle orthopaedic surgeons typically have expertise in treating: 
  • Traumatic injuries, such as fractures, dislocations, and amputations
  • Arthritis and conditions requiring joint replacement or joint fusion
  • Sports-related injuries, such as sprains, torn ligaments, torn tendons, ankle instability, and Achilles tendon problems
  • Bunions, hammertoes, and flat feet
  • Nerve disorders and congenital deformities, including club foot
  • Complicated infections and tumors of the foot and ankle
  • Foot problems related to diabetes, including ulcers and infections
  • Complications from prior foot and ankle surgery

​What is the AOFAS?

Founded in 1969, the American Orthopaedic Foot & Ankle Society (AOFAS) is a medical specialty society for US and international foot and ankle orthopaedic surgeons.​

About FootCareMD 

FootCareMD is your source for reliable information on foot and ankle conditions and treatments. All content was developed and peer reviewed by orthopaedic surgeons specializing in foot and ankle surgery. FootCareMD is overseen by the AOFAS Public Education Committee and maintained by AOFAS staff.
The AOFAS offers information on this site as an educational service. The content of FootCareMD, including text, images and graphics, is for informational purposes only. The content is not intended to substitute for professional medical advice, diagnoses or treatments. If you need medical advice, use the "Find a Surgeon​" search to locate a foot and ankle orthopaedic surgeon in your area.



Have a question or comment about the content of FootCareMD? Send an email to FootCareMD@aofas.org.



Senior Reviewers
Eric Bluman, MD, PhD
Robert Gorman, MD
Jamal Ahmad, MD
John G. Anderson, MD
Judy Baumhauer, MD
Timothy C. Beals, MD
Donald Bohay, MD
Michael Clare, MD
Christopher Chiodo, MD
Bruce Cohen, MD
Joseph Daniel, DO
Scott J. Ellis, MD
John Femino, MD
Timothy Flock, MD
Jeffrey Feinblatt, MD
David N. Garras, MD
John Gould, MD
Jeffrey E. Johnson MD
Paul Juliano, MD
Hyong Nyun Kim, MD, PhD
Kevin Kirk, DO
Sameh Labib, MD
Thomas H. Lee, MD
Robert H. Leland, MD
David S. Levine, MD
Roger Mann, MD
Arthur Manoli II, MD
Scott Nemec, DO
F. Ray Nickel, MD
Selene Parekh, MD
Murray J. Penner, MD, FRCSC
Paul Peters, MD
David Porter, MD, PhD
Steven Raikin, MD
Sudheer Reddy, MD
Bruce Sangeorzan, MD
Robert Santrock, MD
Lew Schon, MD
W. Bret Smith, DO
Elly Trepman, MD
Anand Vora, MD
A.K. Walling, MD
Kevin Wing, MD


Sami Abdulmassih, MD
Jamal Ahmad, MD
Kelly L. Apostle MD, FRCSC
Umur Aydogan, MD
Heather Barske MD, FRCSC
Sudhir Belagaje, MD
Joshua A. Bell, MD
Mark J. Berkowitz, MD
Clayton Bettin, MD
Roberto Bevoni, MD
Rebecca Cerrato, MD
Gladys Ka Yan Chan, MD, FRCS(C)
Jeremy Chan, BS
Nicholas Cheney, DO
Marcus Coe, MD
Brian Clowers, MD
James S. Davitt, MD
Samuel G. Dellenbaugh MD
Sarang Desai, DO
Shyler Lynn DeMill, DO
Thomas J. Douglas, MD
Mark Drakos, MD 
Andrew J. Elliott, MD
John Paul Elton, MD
Daniel Farber, MD
Todd Fellars, MD
Mason Neal Florence, MD
Beatriz E. Garcia-Cardona, MD
Christopher Gentchos, MD
Dirk Gesink, MD
Jaymes D. Granata, MD, MBA
Katie M. Grier, MD
Brandon Jeffrey Hayes, MD
MaCalus V. Hogan, MD
Scott M. Holthusen, MD
Kavita Iyengar, MD
James Jastifer, MD
Justin Kane, MD
Roy Bradley Kellum, Jr., MD
Brian Kleiber, MD​​
Sandra Klein, MD
Jonathan Kraus, MD
David S. Levine, MD
Eric W. Lloyd, MD
Pamela Luk, MD
Katherine C. Ma, MD
David Macias, MD
Sriniwasan B. Mani, BS
Robert S. Marsh, DO
Philip K. McClure, MD
Jeremy McCormick, MD
Adam Gregory Miller, MD
Vitor Miranda, MD
Helen Jane Rawlinson, MBChB, 
FRACS (Orth)
Christopher W. Reb, DO
Sudheer Reddy, MD
Jefferson Sabatini, MD
Michael Salamon, MD
Robert Santrock, MD
Christine Marie Seaworth, MD
​Ashish Shah, MD
Jeremy Smith, MD
W. Bret Smith, DO
Eric Wan Tan, MD
Joshua Tennant, MD, MPH
Gowreeson Thevendran, MFSEM (UK), FRCS(TR&Orth)
J. Turner Vosseller, MD
Jeanne Yu, BS