AOFAS Awards

Mann Award

The prestigious Roger A. Mann Award is given in recognition of the outstanding clinical paper presented at the AOFAS Annual Meeting.  The recipient receives a  framed certificate and monetary award.  

Goldner Award

The prestigious J. Leonard Goldner Award is given for the outstanding research paper presented at the Annual Meeting. The recipient receives a framed certificate and a monetary award.

Kenneth A. Johnson Symposium on Controversies in Foot and Ankle Surgery

Each year the Kenneth A. Johnson International Speaker presents during the symposium held during the AOFAS Annual Meeting. A travel stipend, registration, housing, and framed certificate are provided to the speaker.

Research Grants

Research Grants in three categories (Pilot Projects, up to $5,000; Small Projects, up to $20,000; and Established Projects, up to $60,000) are awarded for research projects on basic science and clinical topics in foot and ankle care. Grants are awarded on a competitive basis based on blind review of applications.

Traveling Fellowships

The Traveling Fellowship Awards Program supports up to five members (45 years or younger) as "Traveling Fellows." The award covers expenses to attend the Annual Meeting and 2 1/2 weeks of travel to visit leaders in foot and ankle research and education. Traveling Fellows are selected on a competitive basis based on applications.

Resident Scholarships

Resident Scholarships are awarded to enable selected orthopaedic residents to attend the AOFAS Annual Meeting.  The award covers registration fees, lodging and travel. PGY2 and PGY3 residents are encouraged to apply.  Scholarship recipients are selected based on applications.